You are called to be an Ambassador.

ambassadors_for_christ

Paul speaks to the mission of every Christian in 2 Corinthians 5.  “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!”  If you claim Jesus as your Savior, I hope there is a distinct difference between what is and what was in your life.  Christians are brand-new people on the inside.  The Spirit of God has given us new life and we are not the same anymore.  We are not just reformed, rehabilitated, or reeducated—we are re-created (Paul said we are a new creation), living in a daily vital union with Jesus Christ.  When you come to Christ, you don’t just turn over a new leaf, you begin a new life with a new Master that brings a new perspective on life.

Paul goes on to remind us that God has given me a new mission: “All this is from God, who reconciled us to himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation:” (2 Cor. 5:18)  Because we have been reconciled to God, we have been given the privilege of encouraging others to be reconciled to Him as well.  That is a God-given responsibility for every Christian.

But there is more!  In 2 Corinthians 5:19-20 He tells usthat God was reconciling the world to himself in Christ, not counting men’s sins against them. And he has committed to us the message of reconciliation. We are therefore Christ’s ambassadors, as though God were making his appeal through us. We implore you on Christ’s behalf: Be reconciled to God.”

An Ambassador is an official representative of one country to another.  As a believer, I am Christ’s Ambassadors to the world.  He is sending me to my world with His message of reconciliation.  The same thing could be said of any sincere Christ follower.  Jesus Christ is sending you to your world with His message of reconciliation.  This is an important responsibility that is not to be taken lightly.

If you will make yourself available, I think you will be amazed to see how God will use you.  You might be surprised at just how easy it is for you to impact your world for Christ.  Develop an awareness of the needs around you.  Pray for the lost.  Then say, “God, here I am.  I am available.  Use me.”  Be willing to tell others what Christ has done for you.  You might be surprised how even a simple invitation to church could change the life of someone you know.

1 comment
  1. Oh, Steve, this so inspired me today! I pray, through my books and my blog, that I am delivering Christ’s message to a world full of hurt and need. May God bless!

Leave a comment